News‎ > ‎PE News‎ > ‎

BTEC National in Sport - KS5

posted 18 Nov 2015, 07:10 by   [ updated 18 Nov 2015, 07:13 ]

The course provides learners with a variety of ways to demonstrate their knowledge, understanding and skills in a selection of areas with a strong vocational context. It helps to develop the learner’s confidence to become critical and analytical and provides them with an insight into how the body works and how to train the body effectively.  

The course involves a variety of units, some of which are marked internally, some are exam based and some are tasks marked externally by Pearson. The optional units will be chosen by your teachers from the list of possible units set by Pearson. Below is a break down of the mandatory units giving an indication of how units fall under the 3 different assessment methods. The Extended Certificate is equivalent to 1 Alevel and the Diploma is equivalent to 2 Alevels.

Entry Requirements:

D* - Merit in BTEC First Sport or A*- C in a GCSE PE course.

A*-B grade in Biology if studying Triple Science or A*-B grade in Core and Additional Sciences.

18 Nov 2015, 07:10